//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Another brick in the wall


Banging my head against technical difficulties at DaveTV today. No classes this week for Thanksgiving break, so I am getting in some time swapping out some things that weren’t working. Problem is, I am swapping used parts from another site, so I don’t know if they work or not, and mostly, apparently, they don’t.

I still retain enough functionality to run classes from here, but you know us gadget freaks–if there’s a button not working, we wanna know why, because it pisses us off that the one time in thousands of hours on the air we might want to use it it’s not working.

Still to come: A death-defying climb on top of…something, haven’t figured out what yet…to replace the lamp in a ceiling-mounted projector.

Meantime I am taking a few minutes to write this, sucking down a gallon of Cheapo Diet Cola (all the caffeine, none of the taste!) and pondering fate.

All told I have been involved, to some degree, with four women this year. On the face of it, not bad for an arthritic 48-year-old fat man, if I was the tally-keeping sort. Certainly the most action I’ve had in a number of years; when I was with Dawn, I was with Dawn alone for eight years.

This is supposed to make me feel all macho, like I really notched my belt. It doesn’t. It makes me think there’s something wrong with me because none of them stayed.

I wish I could be like Charles Bukowski and just cheer the notion of occasionally finding that closeness and warmth with someone. I cheer it when I find it. When it’s gone, I lament it’s absence.

And then I go looking again.

I Made A Mistake
by Charles Bukowski

I reached up into the top of the closet
and took out a pair of blue panties
and showed them to her and
asked “are these yours?”

About Anechoic

we are always asked to understand the other person's viewpoint no matter how out-dated foolish or obnoxious.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

The stuff you missed

Get an e-mail when I spew something new.

Join 14 other followers

The last month of stuff

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 8,078 hits
