//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Blah


“I like too many things and get all confused and hung-up running from falling star to another till I drop. This is the night, what it does to you. I had nothing to offer anybody except my own confusion” –Jack Kerouac

A weekend of mostly catching up on sleep. There was a Halloween party booked in the conference center Saturday night, which meant the front gate was open from about 7 to after 2 a.m. (it’s usually closed on weekends), and wouldn’t you know it, during that roughly seven-hour span, someone broke into the motor pool and siphoned gas out of about 10 trucks.

This has happened before, several months ago. I suspect some of the teens they had working here as temps during the summer harvest season; the motor pool isn’t readily visible or obvious from either of the roads bordering this place (it’s basically a gravel yard surrounded by chain link fencing in the middle of a bunch of buildings) and whoever the culprits were knew just where to go and what they were looking for.

One funny observation: At the grocery store Saturday afternoon, a bright yellow car festooned with advertising for fitness supplements…parked in a handicapped spot.

Did I mention that the Very Cool Job at the State Capitol…isn’t happening? I’m not sure if they hired someone else or just decided not to fill it, but I got a very nice e-mail telling me what a terrific person I am but alas they can’t offer me a job.

Monday, and another week of DaveTV. We are coming up on midterms. I am looking for a new doctor, not happy with the current one’s insistence that everything wrong with me is a result of my weight. Yeah, the weight doesn’t help, isn’t good for me. But I was losing it and doing well until I was stricken with whatever it was that hit me in August and September.

Let’s see, what else… reconnected with my best friend from the 7th grade the other day. He’s been a Navy officer, a corporate executive, and an international trade consultant, and yet he’s now unemployed and in the midst of (to hear his account) bitter divorce and custody battle over his two young daughters. And this is a guy who I know did everything in life right–graduated from a world-class college with an engineering degree, served his country with distinction, etc.

Yet there he is, like me, stuck out there looking for the next reinvention.

We are, indeed, the 99%.

About Anechoic

we are always asked to understand the other person's viewpoint no matter how out-dated foolish or obnoxious.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

The stuff you missed

Get an e-mail when I spew something new.

Join 14 other followers

The last month of stuff

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 8,077 hits
